Goline Logo

News

  • Route RPKI validation April 1st, 2022
    RPKI is a security framework by which network owners can validate and secure the critical route updates or Border Gateway Protocol (BGP) announcements between public Internet networks. BGP is essentially the central nervous system of the Internet and one of its fundamental building blocks. The main function of BGP is to facilitate efficient routing between Autonomous Systems (AS), by building and maintaining the Internet routing table. The Internet routing table is effectively the navigation system of the Internet and without it, traffic would be unable to flow between its constituent networks. Unfortunately, routing equipment alone cannot distinguish between legitimate and malicious routing announcements,...
  • RIPE – Atlas Anchor February 17th, 2022
    We have become an even more integral part of the RIPE Atlas project by hosting an anchor, a device that allows for latency analysis of traffic between autonomous systems.https://atlas.ripe.net/probes/7073/RIPE Atlas anchors play an integral role in the RIPE Atlas network by acting both as enhanced RIPE Atlas probes with more measurement capacity, as well as regional measurement targets within the greater RIPE Atlas network. Anchors are able to perform many more measurements than a regular RIPE Atlas probe, and the large amount of data they collect is made available to everyone. In addition, anchors act as powerful targets that can...
  • MANRS June 20th, 2020
    GOLINE firmly believes in initiatives to protect networks, improve security and resilience of the global routing system. Therefore we decided to support the MANRS project and join as participants.Mutually Agreed Norms for Routing Security (MANRS) is a global initiative, supported by the Internet Society, that provides crucial fixes to reduce the most common routing threats. MANRS offers specific actions via four programs for Network Operators, Internet Exchange Points, CDN and Cloud Providers, and Equipment Vendors. Requirements for Participation Please read the full MANRS Actions document before applying. You can become a participant if you meet these requirements: You (or your company) support...

Eliminare vCLS orfane in VMware vCenter

Caparrelli Paolo VMware 22 June 2022

Nostro dominio cluster: config.vcls.clusters.domain-c223823.enabled

Retreat Mode steps

Using the vSphere Client

  1. Log in to the vSphere Client.
  2. Navigate to the cluster on which vCLS has to be disabled. Copy the cluster domain id from the URL of the browser. It should be similar to 'domain-c<number>'.

    Notes
    You only need to copy domain-c<number> part of the URL. Using other values, for example the cluster UUID, or a combination of the cluster ID and the UUID, will result in vpxd failing to start when you next restart it. Therefore please be careful to only use the ID domain-c<number>.
    For example: When you navigate to cluster in vSphere client, your URL will be similar to this: https://<fqdn-of-vCenter-server>/ui/app/cluster;nav=h/urn:vmomi:ClusterComputeResource:domain-c8:eef257af-fa50-455a-af7a-6899324fabe6/summary. You only need to copy domain-c8 to use in the steps below.
  3. Navigate to the vCenter Server and then to Configure tab.
  4. Click on Advanced setting section and then on Edit settings button.
  5. Add a new entry with name = config.vcls.clusters.domain-c<number>.enabled and value = False

    NoteTrue and False are case insensitive, so any case of these two values should be accepted.
     
  6. Click Save.
  7. vCLS monitoring service will initiate the clean-up of vCLS VMs and user will start noticing the tasks with the VM deletion. 
  8. If this cluster has DRS enabled, then it will not be functional and additional warning will be displayed in the cluster summary. DRS will be disabled until vCLS is re-enabled on this cluster. 
  9. To remove Retreat Mode from the cluster, change the value to True in step# 5 above. 

    NoteTrue and False are case insensitive, so any case of these two values should be accepted.
     
  10. Once you configure retreat mode on a cluster, the entry for the cluster will stay in the vCenter Advanced Settings. There is no way to delete this entry from vSphere Client, there will be no issue with keeping this entry.



0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x